Fathers Day Dinner Desserts!

Happy Saturday everyone! I know it’s technically Sunday already, but I haven’t gone to bed yet, so it’s still Saturday in my mind. That’s my excuse for a late blog post and I’m sticking to it! haha..

Anyways I’m kind of at a loss for what to post about this week as we haven’t really been doing much of anything around the house. Fathers day, as well as my husbands, and both mine and his fathers birthdays are all coming up. All within the same week they happen, which is kind of crazy, but being able to celebrate all of their birthdays and fathers day at the same time actually makes things almost easier. This year, we’re having a dads dinner here at our place and I’m rather excited to have the dads and a few friends and family for a nice early summer get-together. My husband and father-in-law are both lactose intolerant and a family friend can’t have gluten in his diet, so for the dinner I’ve rounded up some yummy looking dairy and gluten free desserts! I’ll share those with you here, and once we’ve dined on them, I’ll update readers on the turnout of the treats.

So first up, I found this little gem: Key Lime Tarts! Found here:

http://www.nutritionistinthekitch.com/2012/12/30/key-lime-tarts-dairy-gluten-free/

IMGP7513-800x531 I plan to make these babies a bit early and freeze them so I won’t have as much to make right before the party. I’ll also definitely be putting the sliced kiwi on the top as I think it just looks fantastic! Looking forward to trying these.

My second yummy find is Lemon Bars, found here:

http://tasty-yummies.com/2013/04/29/meyer-lemon-bars-gluten-free-grain-free-dairy-free-refined-sugar-free/

77e5b1758bbd1419980cbaaa91b65966I hope I can find the right lemons for this one. I think they will go super with the lime tarts. I’ll most likely make these a couple days in advance and keep them in the fridge until the big day as it doesn’t say anything about being able to freeze them.

Last but not least is a special treat I want to make that my son can have a piece of as well. He will be 9 months old by then, and he’s already been eating a LOT of new foods. I’ve given him simple banana bread (with less sugar than the recipe normally has and no salt) and he devoured it with glee! So I’ll also be making blueberry banana bread, the recipe found here:

http://thelittlegreenspoon.com/2014/06/09/paleo-blueberry-banana-bread/

IMG_5213-600x400 I’ll be using almond extract instead of vanilla as my husband is also allergic to vanilla. (Seriously, have you ever tried to bake without using vanilla AT ALL? That stuff is in freaking everything!) Thankfully substituting it for other flavors and extracts is pretty easy for most things and usually doesn’t take away from the flavor of treats. Considering this recipe uses almond flour (ground almonds), I think It’ll be just fine. 🙂 Other than that, I’ll be baking this either the night before or day of, so the bread is nice and soft and fresh, especially to give to my littlest man.

Well that’s about it, I can’t wait to update everyone on the turn-out of these amazing sounding treats! I think they will all please my crowd.

Until next week, enjoy!

– JHM

3 thoughts on “Fathers Day Dinner Desserts!

Leave a Reply

